Help stop poverty, buy a book: Oxfam | Weekend Book Haul

Book shopping is the best kind of therapy for me so I had a blast yesterday morning browsing through shelves and shelves of books, especially when buying books helps other people too!

I bought these books from Oxfam, a charity organisation that helps fight poverty across the globe and it feels so good to know that my love for books can make a difference in someone’s life somewhere across the world!!! Isn’t that incredible?! If you want to know a little more about what Oxfam does, then click here and you can do online shopping too ;).

20170625_145447.jpg20170625_145436.jpg

Mansfield park and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I am a huge fan of Jane Austen and could not resist buying Mansfield Park & Pride and Prejudice (one of my top 10 books of all time!!). I am beyond pleased with finding these. 

 

20170625_145424

The Godfather by Mario Puzo

I must confess that I have not seen the movie so far, which is why I actually picked up the book as I tend not to read the book if I’ve seen the movie. I have a generally idea on what the book/movie is a portrayal of the 1940’s criminal underworld with Don Corleone at the centre of it all. I am so excited to have this book and explore a world that I don’t know that much about! 

This is currently on sale at Book Depository at £4.52, you can buy it here.

20170625_145359.jpg

The Secret Circle by L.J.Smith

I heard about this fantasy YA novel a long time ago, but didn’t got around to reading it, however I am glad I picked it up now. The story follows Cassie as she moves to New England and bonds with a group of teenagers from her school and becomes part of their Secret Circle.

If you want to buy this book, please click here.

 

20170625_145410.jpg

The fault in our stars by John Green

This is another very popular YA novel that I haven’t read yet or seen the movie. I am really excited to start reading this. The story centres on Hazel, a young girl who was diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer when he was 12. Hazel meets Augustus at a Cancer Kid Support Group and her whole world changes. 

The fault in our stars is on sale at £5.65 and you can buy it here from Book Depository.

 

If you read any of these books, please send me your thoughts in the comment section. Also, if you have any other recommendations, please let me know as I am always looking to expand my reading horizons.

You can interact with me on:
Twitter @Jane_Writes13
Instagram: Jane_Kelsey
Snapchat: Jane.Kelsey

Leave a Reply

